The Organic Marketer


All Things Seth Godin

Posted in Social Marketing by Jim Tome on May 2, 2008
Tags: , ,

I’ve been a huge Seth Godin raver for years even though he does have a tendency to hawk his wares a bit too blatantly for me. Imagine my delight (I would say “surprise,” though Seth, integral to the site I’m about to mention has to love what someone did!) when I wandered around Squidoo (which Seth started back in 2005) and found this little gem.

 

Enjoy!

3 Responses to 'All Things Seth Godin'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'All Things Seth Godin'.

  1. seth godin said,

    Hi Jim

    I’m glad you liked the action figure (all the proceeds go to the Acumen Fund, by the way).

    I’m concerned about the blatant self-promotion part, though. With more than 2500 posts to date, and no ads, I think I’ve kept any promotional references to less than 2% of the posts, and I try extra hard to make them relevant.

    If you have suggestions for a better balance between letting people know what I’ve crated and bothering them too much, please let me know.

  2. organicmarketer said,

    Seth,

    If you’re telling me it’s real (I guess I didn’t get that!), that’s tough sell — you’ve got a great captive audience that are fans of you (who wouldn’t DIE for 2,500 posts!?) but really, as an adult, it’s a bit nerdy for me to have an action figure on my desk. That being said, and being such a fan of yours, if I did have one, it would be yours.

    Thinking this through as I write, though, I’ve always tried to advocate your evangelism, even buying colleagues copies of your book as gifts. Bringing a bit of drip marketing to my strategy, it would be wise, I think, for me to give your action figure (really, a classic idea!) to my more nerdy, er, passionate colleagues.

    I don’t know what help I may be giving you, but, you’re the Master of Cross Selling (BTW, the entire experience building up to your recent webinar presentation was absolutely brilliant — something I am using as a case study in marketing motivation to my clients in an upcoming case study we are sending out). I’m sure you’ll figure a way to promote these to those that would really want to share.

  3. seth godin said,

    Actually, I don’t sell or market the figures (I didn’t build the page you found). A toy company licensed the rights from me.

    I’ve never tried to get someone to buy them, but I think it’s fun when people decide they’d like to have one.


Leave a Reply

